Okinawa

5 beaches in Okinawa to make you jelly

Here is a list of five of the many sandy beaches I went to the first time I went to Okinawa. These are only sandy beaches that people can swim, and doesn’t include tall places overlooking the water or rocky beaches.

In 2008, I went to Okinawa for the first time. It was for one month in the summer, and I explored many places. Among other things, I went to lots of different beaches. Besides the ones that I’ve listed below, I stopped at other places along the coast. Sometimes they were sandy beaches, and sometimes they were rocky cliffs. Here are five beaches with names that I went to. They are all either on the main island of Okinawa, mostly in the north, or else a short boat ride away.

 

  1. Sunset Beach, Chatan

This one is very popular, but not just for the beach. The beach itself might not be very busy, but the entire area is, and the water gets a little sandy when the tide is in. It is close to Okinawa city and has a big Aeon and an outside shopping area with many restaurants and clothing places. You can also pick up souvenirs here. Expect to see lots of U.S. Military personnel. There was fireworks the time I was there, for some reason.

a04a03

  1. Kouri-jima

This beach is accessible by a long bridge, the longest bridge in Okinawa. It is north of Nago, so if you are coming from Naha, it might take two or three hours to get there. However, the scenery is worth it. It’s a little busy, and the beach is not huge. But the ocean is clear, and you can see lots of fish in the water. The swimming area is not fenced off though, so you have to be careful about jellyfish.

h07h20

 

  1. Minna-jima “Croissant Island”

This one is so named because the shape of it is like a croissant. Again, it is close to Nago, and you can take ferry from nearby Motobu port. Here, you can rent an umbrella, and you should rent an umbrella because the sun might kill you, except not actually. It’s hot though. The swimming area is fenced off, and the whole island is surrounded by corals and fishes. You can explore the rest of the island on foot and get away from the crowd, or rent different water sport thingies.

f09f11

 

  1. Hamahiga

This one is a bit of a secret beach that only the local people know about. It’s also close to Okinawa city on the east side of the island. It’s not so crowded, and the water is not clear or fenced off, but people come to have barbecues, play soccer, and just hang out.

d36d33

 

  1. Emerald Beach

This beach is past Nago and close to the Churaumi Aquarium. I didn’t actually go to the beach to swim and hang out because we were busy doing other things that day. I just drove past it and stopped for pictures. And another time I went to watch the sunset.

c03c04

 

BONUS!

This small beach that I don’t what the name is. It was also on the northern part of the island. I just stopped here on the way to somewhere else. You go over this bridge. I didn’t swim, but I walked in the water and found a sea star.

b56-2b54-2

Thank you for reading, and let me know which beaches you have been to in Okinawa.

And please consider following my blog to see more updates.

9 thoughts on “5 beaches in Okinawa to make you jelly”

  1. Hi Jennifer

    All pictures remind me of Okinawan days.
    Thanks.

    I suggest two beaches.
    First is Ikei (伊計) beach, which you need to pay entrance fee.
    But, this beach is very very clear. This beach is near the Katsuren peninsula.
    Second is Mi-baru (新原) beach in Nanjo city.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Hiryu. I’m glad I could remind you about Okinawa. I think we may have driven to Ikei beach, but we didn’t want to pay so we just looked and then left. I haven’t been to Mibaru beach though.

      Like

  2. Thank you for amazing blog post!
    I live in Nago city, the northern part of Okinawa♡
    I love Okinawa,
    and I am trying to introduce Okinawa in my blog these days.
    So, I am really happy to know you enjoyed beaches of Okinawa.

    I think the last photo is Sesoko-island beach!
    The island has two wonderful cafes.
    One is “fuu cafe”, and the other is “Ringo cafe”!
    Please come to Okinawa again!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your comment. I really enjoyed visiting many different beaches in Okinawa. Thank you for letting me know about the last one! I didn’t go to any cafes though. I will come to Okinawa again in March, for my sixth time 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

